Ford Fusion Energi Forum

MPG vs MPGe vs MPGc

bz101

I am new to the Fusion Energi (~1,000 miles) and have a question on calculating MPG and what the Energi actually calculates when it says "Average MPG".

I did read a few posts here and out on the web about the difference between all 3.  I want to confirm my understanding:

1) MPG = traditional gas-powered calculation that does not take into account electric mileage or cost

2) MPGe = (gas and electric mileage) divided by gallons of gas used (doesn't take into account the cost of electric)

3) MPGc = (gas and electric mileage) divided by (cost of gas + cost of electric)

Is that right?  So MPGe is misleading if you're trying to figure out how much money you're really saving because you can't just take the old MPG and compare it to the new MPGe.

What is the "Average MPG" shown on the left-hand display in the Energi?  I assume it's MPGe.

Any thoughts on how to manage MPGc?

Thanks for your help.

2014s only report MPG on the display, and cannot be changed to MPGe (2013s could).  An all-electric trip is reported as "999" MPG.

If you drive 10 miles on pure electric, and 10 miles in hybrid mode at 40 MPG, the car would report that trip as 80 MPG (total number of miles divided by gallons used).

Although, My Ford Mobile still reports in MPGe - but even that isn't a pure MPGe calculation and overstates the efficiency in electric mode by not taking the charging inefficiencies into account.  This difference is bigger for Level 1 (120V) charging than for Level 2 (240V).

MPGc is not a real thing... MPG has never been a "cost" number, seeing as gas prices vary...  likewise, electricity prices also vary (region to region, and even at different times of the day depending on your plan).

No, that isn't how MPGe works.

MPG is not a cost calculation.  It it purely the number of miles divided by the gallons of gasoline used.  Most people know and understand this general concept.