Ford Fusion Energi Forum

Proper tire inflation?

josefontao

So I've been reading and I see people that have the PSI on their tires set between 35 and as high as 45.

Any tips as to what the proper inflation should be?

I'm in Southern California where the weather is relatively nice.

I've been running 44psi on all my vehicles for over ten years with no problems.  With the temperature below 32 deg here that may drop to 40 or even below in the winter.

I've been running 44psi on all my vehicles for over ten years with no problems.  With the temperature below 32 deg here that may drop to 40 or even below in the winter.

What does your tire wear look like?

I run by factory recommended settings, and adjust if I notice the outsides wearing more then the insides or vice versa.

I think prematurly wearing out a set of $600 tires to save $20 in fuel does not make sense. Not to mention the ride/handling compromise.

What does your tire wear look like?

I run by factory recommended settings, and adjust if I notice the outsides wearing more then the insides or vice versa.

I think prematurly wearing out a set of $600 tires to save $20 in fuel does not make sense. Not to mention the ride/handling compromise.

No abnormal wear.  Steel belted radials sit flat across the tread unlike the older bias ply tires which bubble with added inflation.  The tires are rated to 51psi so 44psi is certainly well within the recommended pressure range.  And no chance of overheating or underinflation.

Remember the problem with the Ford Explorer and Firestone tires in the 1990s?  Ford decided to lower the recommended pressure to 26psi which led to possible overheating, tread separation and rollovers resulting in 250+ deaths.  There were also problems with the Firestone tires and the Explorer design.  The combination of poor vehicle design, under inflated tires along with tire defects led to numerous rollovers when the tires failed due to tread separation.