Ford Fusion Energi Forum

New Energi won't charge .... :(

rjent

I just got my 2016 Energi home last night.  Plugged it in to a dedicated circuit, the flashing ring did the correct two rotation starting at the upper right hand quadrant so that tells me the cord is correct (right? noob here :) ).  The car is simply not charging! :/  What am I doing wrong?  Is there something I need to set inside?  It ran hybrid home last night perfectly getting 42 MPG over 150 miles into a headwind.  I have checked the battery disconnect behind the rear seat (I know, redundant), I have told the center console to "charge now".  What am I missing?

This is frustrating ....

Dick

Are you getting a flashing ring (the entire ring blinks on and off), or do you get a couple rotations of the charging ring and then it goes dark and then slowly pulses a quadrant?

The charger itself should also blink the "Charging" indicator.

If you're on 120V, it takes a good 6 hours to charge the car.

If you got a couple ring rotations and then everything went dark (including all the lights on the charger) you may have tripped a circuit breaker.  The car draws as much energy as a 12 amp vacuum cleaner (but does it for 6 hours on a discharged battery).  If that circuit is shared with anything else, such as an appliance, you will have to get used to running either the appliance or charging your car, up until you can either get a dedicated outlet installed, go 240V, or move the appliance off of that circuit.

One other thing - did you plug in the charger first, wait for it to power up, and then plug in the car, or did you plug in the car first and then the charger?  The charger has a 'power fail restart" timer that could wait up to 15 minutes before resuming charging.

Edited by Russael

Are you getting a flashing ring (the entire ring blinks on and off), or do you get a couple rotations of the charging ring and then it goes dark and then slowly pulses a quadrant?