Ford Fusion Energi Forum

Dealer Lost Charger / Charger Recommendations

zsetley

Hi everyone! Newbie here.  :baby:

We purchased a 2014 Energi Titanium two weeks ago with roughly 25k miles on it from a used car dealership in Cleveland, OH. I noticed the charger cable was not in the truck and was told one would be ordered and sent to me. Well, after a week I called the service dept. to get an ETA and they said "they're still looking" for one. Sounds to me like they're looking for a used one and are either not finding one, or not finding one cheap enough. :waiting:

So while I wait for it, I am researching other cables and charging station options. 

We do not own our home (my husband's job provides housing) so a hardwired installation in the garage isn't feasible. We do - I believe - have 240v access from old window units, and our fuse box is brand new and in the garage. 

Where can I get an inexpensive but quality cable to use at home? Which brands do you recommend? Are Ford ones available outside of the dealer? 

We really like it so far - and would LOVE IT if we could start driving it in EV now mode. My husband's commute is less than a half mile.

And help and suggestions are appreciated! :woot:

The unit that comes with the car is 120 volts only and take over 5 hours to charge the battery.  A 240 volt unit will charge the battery in a little over 2 hours plus it gives useful preheating in the winter time. 

Just to be sure, did you remove the carpet in the lower part of the trunk?  The charger and an air compressor with built in tire sealant should be there.

Also be sure to register the car with Ford at

https://owner.ford.com

There is an outstanding recall to upgrade the modem, that allows My Ford Mobile to work, from 2G service to 3G service.  As of December 31, 2016 AT&T is shutting down 2G service and the original modem will no longer work.

Any unit that has a J-1772 connector, with the possible exception of early Nissan LEAF units should work.