Ford Fusion Energi Forum

New and need advice

Abright

I just got the 2015 fusion energi. I am brand new to EV. I have no idea what I am doing and trying to read up on as much as I can. One of my main goals for purchasing the car is to get the most MPG and not have to fill up much at gas station. Please give me advice on how to drive the car. I have been driving it in EV LATER mode thinking I was using only the electric charge, but I noticed my gas dwindling. I found out that this is actually the hybrid mode. So I switched to EV NOW mode just today thinking I'm only using the electric mode and no gas and I didn't notice the gas deplete. I am thinking this is the mode I should always start out in . My commute is 25 miles and flat to work on the freeway. Weekends is city driving. Should I be in auto mode instead to get best MPG? I don't thinking I'm doing this right and I'm not getting good mpg. Looking for help! Thank you!

EV Now forces electric mode.  It is perfect for driving around town.  The engine does not run at all.  On the freeway EV Later works best since at freeway speeds you will burn through the battery very quickly.  Leave your house is EV Now mode.  When you reach the freeway on ramp switch to EV Later.  When you reach the off ramp from the freeway switch back to EV Now for the low speed trip to work.

Do you have the ability to charge the car at work?

Auto mode uses the battery until it is exhausted and then switches to hybrid mode but the engine can start for any number of reasons.

In EV Now the engine will only start for extreme reasons like flooring the accelerator pedal.

I use EV Now all of the time since none of my normal driving involves a freeway.  In 2014 I used very little gasoline since I did not make any out of town trips using my Energi and the furthest destination is 10 miles away.