Ford Fusion Energi Forum

Highest miles showing after full recharge

JesseDiaz

I purchased by 2014 Ford Fusion Energi about 2 weeks ago.  The first three charges showed 21 miles when it was done.  After that, I got a max of 18 miles using the 120v charger that came with the car.  I am now using a 240v charger and Im still getting the 18 miles.  Is anyone else experiencing this?  I know its only 3 miles but that's 14% less than I was expecting and 3 miles x 5 days a week is 15 miles and for a month can be 60 miles!

I read somewhere that the dealership can REBOOT the car and this might solve it.  what is everyone else seeing for miles after a full recharge?

Turn off the heater and A/C and you will get more miles.

The number is nothing more than an educated guess based on how the car has previously been driven.

Improve your driving technique and the number will go up.

I agree whole heartedly! Well said Murphy.

I have been driving conventional hybrids for a few years now and have considerable skills in "hypermiling" that allowed me to get

Charge 33 miles

On a charge yesterday. I got about 30 miles with the charge so not too shabby of an educated guess on the Energi's Charge Gauge.

Father Bill

When descending Pike's Peak this Summer, our Fusion registered 43 EV miles before the system quit charging. Of course, a distance test on a flat road after we reached the lowlands established that the "extra EV miles" were just a computer algorithm mirage - the car expended all these phantom EV miles in about 23 miles.

I agree whole heartedly! Well said Murphy.

I have been driving conventional hybrids for a few years now and have considerable skills in "hypermiling" that allowed me to get

On a charge yesterday. I got about 30 miles with the charge so not too shabby of an educated guess on the Energi's Charge Gauge.

Father Bill

Hey Father Bill how fast do you typically drive to get that many miles?